Are you concerned about how to stop deleted photos from returning on your iPhone? Over time, we often do away with data that we do not need. Be it pictures, files, contacts, etc. Seeing it again would bother any user. When they delete a photo, they return to the iPhone. Let’s see how to stop deleted photos from returning on the iPhone device.
When deleting an image from an iPhone or iPad, it should be permanently deleted or at least hide it in the recently deleted folder. But the opposite is happening. The photos return because deleting the image does not permanently remove them. Let’s check out different ways to stop deleted photos from returning on iPhone.
How to Stop Deleted Photos from Returning on iPhone
Here are suggested means to stop all deleted photos from re-appearing on your iPhone.
Can turning off iCloud can fix the problem?
Many people think iCloud is responsible for returning deleted photos. So turning off iCloud should fix the problem because it will stop continuous sync. But this is far from the truth.
iCloud has nothing to do with it. To better understand it, you need to know what happens when you delete photos from iPhone.
Are you frustrated with the photo gallery on iPhone because you can’t delete some pictures? Are you looking for a small trash can icon, but not found anywhere and not sure how to remove the photos? Or do you delete some photos, but upon verification, the photos are still on your iPhone? This is actually a common problem, and the fix is somewhat simple.
Why are my photos not deleting?
There are two main reasons for not removing photos from iPhone:
- The photos are synced from iTunes. If the photos are added to your iPhone because you sync them from iTunes, then iTunes will remove them.
- The images are stored in iCloud. If iPhone Storage Optimization is enabled, you may not be able to actually delete photos directly on your iPhone, as they are stored in iCloud.
However, there can be many other things responsible, and the solutions for themselves are listed below. However, like any online tool, a bug can crawl at any time.
Disabling iCloud can fix the problem
Many people think iCloud is responsible for returning deleted photos. Disabling iCloud should fix the issue as it will stop continuous sync. But it is far from the truth.
iCloud has nothing to do with it. To better understand it, you need to know what happens when you delete photos from iPhone. Although we’ve covered it in detail in our dedicated article (you should read it), we’ll let you know the basics here.
If iCloud is disabled, only photos from your phone will be deleted. But if it is enabled, it will be deleted from all Apple devices that have the same Apple account. So there is no question about recovering it using iCloud.
However, there may be many other things responsible, and the solutions for themselves are listed below. However, like any online gadget, he could sneak a bug anytime. Therefore, after following the solutions mentioned below, you can try disabling iCloud. Read what happens when iCloud is turned off on iPhone.
How to stop deleted photos from returning on iPhone
Let’s see other solutions on how to stop deleted photos from returning on iPhone
Restart the phone
Sometimes the solution may not be as complex as we often anticipate. It may be just to restart the phone. This should be your first step to troubleshooting deleted photos that keep coming back. So turn off your phone, then turn it on again.
Disable image stream
If deleted photos are back, you must deactivate Photo Stream. Therefore, proceed as follows:
- Open settings on iPhone or iPad. Click on your name above.
- Click on iCloud and click on Photos.
- Turn off the switch next to Photo Stream.
· Empty the recently deleted folder
When photos are deleted on iPhone or iPad, they are not permanently deleted. They stay out of sight on your phone in the recently deleted folder for 30 days. You can either delete it permanently manually from the recently deleted folder or wait for 30 days, after which it will disappear automatically.
As a general rule, this will not be responsible for returning the photos. But sometimes it is wrong, and removing it will not hurt. This will only solve the problem.
- To empty the recently deleted folder, follow these steps:
- Open the Apple Photos app on your iPhone or iPad.
- Click on the albums below. Scroll down and tap recently deleted.
- Click on Select at the top. Then select all pictures and press delete.
Professional advice: Refer to our step-by-step guide if you cannot clean the recently deleted folder.
Check out third-party apps
Most of the time, the problem is actually related to a third-party app, and we blame the photo app. You should check the images that appear again. If it comes from a specific app, uninstall that app from your phone, then reinstall it.
Many iOS users have indicated that this is mainly an Instagram bug. So, uninstall it. This will not delete your Instagram account or any photos posted to it.
If you try to delete the added photos from iTunes, they will not be deleted. Deselect the photos, and they will be automatically deleted from your phone.
Check out Google Images
If you use other image storage services like Google Images, you may also be responsible for the problem. This is because they work differently than iCloud.