What is “My Activity”? How to Delete it from Google Search Engine

What is "My Activity"?

Discover how to find My Activity in your Google activity and the best ways to delete it manually and automatically with maximum flexibility.

When you use Google websites, applications, and services, your Activity is saved to your Google Account. You can view and delete this Activity. You can also stop recording most activities at any time.

Even if you don’t have an Android phone, you probably use three or four Google services every day, so the company knows a lot about you. This includes your travel and shopping habits, even if you have used the offline services.

This does not mean that Google tries to track you down personally, as the information is stored anonymously. The main job of advertisers is to understand demographic data to better target ads. However, if you’ve dealt with things that you shouldn’t, or if you just don’t want websites to be able to extract your private information, there are ways to clear the Google History stored on your devices.

What is "My Activity"?

There are also several alternative methods of staying anonymous online that you can easily find. This includes switching to DuckDuckGo or even accessing the dark web and dark websites.

How to Find My Activity Page on Google.

You use many Google products on your phone and computer, such as Android, Gmail, Google Drive, Google Maps, YouTube, Google Search, etc.

Therefore, Google has different ways of collecting information about you. Everything you do in Google apps and tools is saved on the Google Activity page.

On the Google activity page, Google stores information about the websites you visit, the images you viewed, the search terms you entered in the search box, etc. How to find “My Activity Page” on Google.

Go to the “My Activity” Page.

To visit the “My Google Activity” page, go to myactivity.google.com. The My Activity page is where you can find your Activity from various Google products such as Search, Image Search, Maps, Games, Shopping, YouTube, Help, and others. Everything you’ve done with these tools and applications is saved right on this page.

Access Your Google Activities

The default setting on the My Activity page shows all of your activities on a timeline. All data that you can find on this page are summarized on different dates. If you’d like to see each item in the list, click the menu button in the top left corner and then go to “Item View”.

Look for Options to Work with your “Google Activity Data”.

The details that you will find also include such information as the time Google recorded the Activity and the time you used the Google product. To see the details of a particular element, you need to tap the three vertical dots that you will find next to that element. You will find options that you can use, such as Deleting a single item.

How to Delete my Activity Manually

Following the procedures below will help you to delete your activity from Google search.

  • Open your device settings on your Android tablet or phone.
  • Go to Google, then go to Google Account.
  • At the top of the page, you will see data and personalization.
  • Under “Activity & Timeline,” tap “My Activity”.
  • Click the three vertical dots to the right of the search bar. Go to “delete activity by”.
  • Click on “All the time” you see under “Delete by date”.
  • Now tap on Delete.

How do I remove individual elements from my Activity?

The point here is to remove certain items from a Google search you performed or a website you visited in Chrome.

  • Open the device settings on your Android phone or tablet. Go to Google, then your Google Account.
  • Tap on “Data & Personalization” found above.
  • Under Activity & timeline, tap My Activity.
  • Find the items you want to remove, and there are two ways to do it.
  • You can browse during the day. Tap the three vertical dots for more information, then switch to the items’ view.
  • You can use filters or do a manual search.
  • Navigate to the item you want to remove, tap the three vertical dots to get more, then tap Remove/delete.

Clear Google History using MyActivity on Web Browser

How to delete my Activity manually on Google Search?

To clear the Google History stored on your phone, tablet or laptop, click on the My Activity page here.

You need to sign in to a Google account to access this page. Otherwise, you will be asked to log in. We don’t recommend doing this if you’re using a public computer or at least remember to log out when you’re done browsing.

You can filter the Activity before deleting it by date or data type. Click on any of the options on the right side of the webpage to start the removal process. Select “View Articles” for a chronological list of the data Google has collected.

How to delete my Activity manually on Google Search

Tap the little trash can in the top right corner. The data in this area are automatically deleted. There is no pop-up confirmation box. So be careful before deleting any information that you may need.

How to delete my Activity manually on Google Search

Use the Delete Activity After option on the left to have one year of data access. On the phone, this option is hidden in the left menu and can be accessed by tapping the three lines in the top left corner of the screen. This is a less cluttered version of the menu above, but it gives you the option to choose which types of data you want to delete for which period.

How to delete my Activity manually on Google Search

To delete the Google History saved from the start of your Google Account, click Today, select Every Hour, then select Delete.

The first time you clear your Google History, you will receive a warning that explains how Google can use your data to improve its services. If you still want to clear your Google History, click OK and you’re done.

Clear Google MyActivity in Google Chrome

To clear just the search history, cookies, and cache in Chrome, click the Chrome menu in the top left corner of your browser window and select “Clear Browsing Data”.

A new tab will open where you can choose between simple and advanced tools. With Basic, you can quickly clear your Google history, with Advanced you have more control over individual elements.

The General tab allows you to delete your Google Browsing History from any devices you are signed in to, delete cookies and other site data (which will shut it down on most websites), and delete pictures and images cached files.

This is useful for freeing up space, especially if your browser is running a little slow. However, this can cause websites to load more slowly the next time you use them.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Bassey Chimezirim James

Bassey Chimezirim James is an ardent writer who has written for top education and tech websites, which includes the likes of World Scholarship Forum, After School Africa, Gadget Wrights etc. He is a motivational speaker, and the them for the https://stayinformedgroup.com/ project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *