Are you wondering how to block someone on Snapchat? If you want to break contact with a particular Snapchat user so they can’t send you snapshots, view stories, or even find traces of your account, this article will walk you through the exact steps to block them.
You can easily lock or unlock someone on Snapchat, but it can be confusing to find out exactly what happens when you block someone.
Blocking someone on Snapchat not only prevents that person’s account from contacting you, but they also cannot see your public posts in the app.
Blocking people on Snapchat takes just a minute and is the same on iPhone and Android.
The ability to connect with people through social media can be great until it doesn’t.
Maybe you’re dealing with someone’s spam emails, or you just don’t want them to see your messages. Then it’s time to block that person.
With Snapchat, the blocking process is very simple, provided you are familiar with navigating the app.
Here’s everything you need to know to block people on Snapchat on your iPhone or Android phone and what’s next.
Table of Contents
- How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat
How to Block Someone on Snapchat
Blocking people on Snapchat only takes about a minute. That’s how it’s done:
1. Open the Snapchat app on your phone and log into your account if necessary.
2. Slide your finger to the right to open the Friends screen.
3. Find and hold the person you want to block.
4. Select “More.”
5. Tap Block.
If the person you want to block is not on your friends’ list, find them by tapping the magnifying glass next to the word “friends” at the top of the screen and entering their username. When you find them, long press their name, select “More,” and press “Block.”
What happens if you block someone on Snapchat?
If you block someone on Snapchat, they won’t be able to see their group history or their charms. They also cannot send you snapshots or chats.
Provided they have no other way to contact you, and they are not friends with you on another social media site, the lock will cut them off from you.
This is the main difference between blocking people and deleting friends on Snapchat: blocking prevents people from seeing your shared content publicly, unlike deleting friends.
How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat
If, for some reasons, you want to unlock someone later, you can do so from Snapchat’s Settings screen.
- 1. Tap your profile icon in the upper left corner and then tap the gear icon in the upper right corner.
- 2. In your settings, scroll down to “Locked” at the bottom of the screen. In this menu, you will find all the people who have blocked you.
- 3. Tap the “X” next to the username you want to unlock.
If someone is blocked by me on Snapchat, Will They know I Blocked Them?
Snapchat does not send a notification to a user who chooses to block it. However, this user may suspect that he or she has been blocked only by noting that his activity and account are no longer available. The only way for a user to confirm that they have been blocked is to use another unlocked Snapchat account to search and find their account.
Alternatives to blocking users on Snapchat
Blocking is the most extreme way to limit contact with another user. However, there are other less restrictive methods that you can use.
Use The Do Not Disturb Feature
This is the least restrictive alternative method of blocking, which simply disables all notifications from friends or groups. If you enable Do Not Disturb for a friend, they can still send you snapshots and chats. You just won’t be bothered with a notification every time he does so.
This is a great alternative to turn off app notifications completely if you want to stay friends with users and want to keep notifications only for certain friends and groups. You can find the Do Not Disturb option by touching a friend to open a chat, touching the menu icon, and touching Do Not Disturb on the menu list.
Remove A User From Friends List
Deleting a user simply deletes them as friends so that you are no longer connect with them. They can still see your account and see all the public posts that you publish. Depending on your privacy settings, they can even send you snapshots and chats.
Deleting a user is ideal if you just want to be able to contact and share private stories with friends while still being open to sharing public content with non-friends. To remove a user from your friends, tap a friend to open a chat, tap the menu icon, and then tap Remove friend from the menu list.
Change The Confidentiality Settings That Only Friends Can Contact You
If a user who is not your friend sends you snapshots, tries to chat with you, or sees your stories that you do not want them to see, you can change your privacy settings so that they cannot contact you again. This alternative really goes hand in hand with removing users from your friends’ list.
With Snapchat, you can choose whether everyone (friends and non-friends) or just friends should contact you and see your stories. To change these settings, tap your profile icon in the upper left corner of the app, tap the settings icon to access your settings, and then scroll to the Who can section.
Tap contact and select My friends so that only your friends can send you snapshots or chats. Go back, tap View my story, choose My friends, or tap Custom to create a custom privacy filter so some friends can’t see your stories.