iPhone can be frustrating when you encounter some errors that require expert attention. I know you wouldn’t want to be locked out of your iPhone but you can be forced to see iTunes help to fix your Apple device. However, the “iPhone is disabled connect to iTunes” appeared and I had to wait for 60 minutes yet nothing happens.
What I discovered was immediately the disabled notification pops up the device became unstable. Using the device became a threating. However, I also discovered that to use any iPhone with the “connect to iTunes” message when the device says “iPhone is disabled” you must be able to clear the error message.
Meanwhile, if you have a direct answer to fix this problem kindly help us in the comment section. To avoid this from future occurrences we should find out why the error message appears and movies from 5 minutes to 10 until it gets to 60 minutes.
iPhone is Disabled
To unlock your iPhone you must provide your unlock code [Face or Touch ID]. However, you have 5 attempts to unlock your iPhone. When the 5 attempts are all missed “iPhone is disabled” will automatically lock. iPhone programming will believe that a third-party is trying to access the device without permission and to secure the device for theft the “disabled” notification will appear.
However, another trial time will be in 5 minutes. When missed again the time required to wait to unlock the device will move up to 10. As the time increases the iPhone security measure will try to protect the device and finally lock device which will remain locked until it’s connected to the iTunes.
iPhone Passcode Timer
iPhone keeps timer of it passcode to be able to increase the “disabled” time from the 1 minutes after 5 incorrect attempts with the passcode to 60 minutes after 9 attempts. After the “10” attempt you will be locked totally and you will be referred to connect to iTunes.
- 5 incorrect passcode entries in a row – iPhone is disabled, try again in 1 minute.
- 7 incorrect entries in a row – iPhone is disabled, try again in 5 minutes.
- 8 incorrect entries in a row – iPhone is disabled, try again in 15 minutes.
- 9 incorrect entries in a row – iPhone is disabled, try again in 60 minutes.
- 10 incorrect passcode entries – iPhone is disabled, connect to iTunes.
If you failed to connect to iTunes to resolve the “disabled iPhone” the iPhone will wide off all its data without permission.
Connect to iTunes
If you don’t want Apple to wipe off your iPhone data when it says “connect to iTunes” it’s better to connect to iTunes on your computer to gain access to your phone rather than guessing or retrying the passcode to unlock your phone.
However, if you have done pass the “iPhone is disabled, connect to iTunes” level and the phone is wiped off the only standing chance you have to restore your data is the phone back up on your computer.
However, at this point, you should be able to supply the exact passcode to the phone else you will end up having a formatted iPhone.
Unlock Disabled iPhone
Finally, you can unlock your iPhone when it’s disabled using the iTunes if you know the passcode and have a backup file.
- Plugin your iPhone to your computer.
- Launch the iTunes software.
- Click on “Sync” in the iTunes.
- Enter your iPhone passcode to “unlock” your device backup on the computer.
- Select “Restore” to restore the most recent backup on your phone.
You can see that to unlock the iPhone you need the passcode even when connected to iTunes. However, if you cannot remember your iPhone passcode to restore the most recent backup you will then need to wipe off your iPhone to have a new phone without a passcode.
Restore Backup from iCloud
If you have got your iPhone back on iCloud without the passcode to restore it on iTunes follow the procedures below.
- Visit iCloud find on your computer to find the locked iPhone.
- Enter your “Apple ID” and click on the “arrow” to proceed.
- Enter your “Apple ID Password” and click on the “arrow”.
- Select “All Devices”.
- Click on the “disabled iPhone”.
- Choose “Erase Phone”.
- Sign in to your iCloud account with your password and username to authenticate.
- Your iPhone will data will be wiped off and a new iPhone will emerge.
Now, you will then proceed to set up your iPhone, create a new passcode, and restore the most recent backup.