Discover all you need to know about Archiving Instagram Posts, and what happens when you tag an archived post on Instagram.
Instagram has been around for so long that many of us have some really old and embarrassing photos. Posts that you once thought were “cool” or “current” are still on your Instagram profile for everyone to see. Fortunately, there is a way to keep these posts while you hide them from your followers. Archiving will help you with this. In this article, we’ll cover what happens when you archive posts on Instagram.
Instagram is making its archiving feature available to all users today after testing it with a small group of people last month.
With this feature, anyone on Instagram can hide their old posts without deleting them. If you go to the “…” menu on a photo, which usually shows Edit and Delete options, you can archive the top image. Pressing this button will send the photo to a private gallery, your archive, where only you can see it.
Instagram seems to be hoping the archives will keep people from deleting their photos and make it more convenient for them to share certain photos. Some of your users, and some teenagers, in particular, have a habit of deleting pictures that don’t get enough likes or that feel too personal afterward. The file doesn’t necessarily stop this behavior, but it does keep the images for later viewing.
There is also an option to send photos from the archive to your profile, where they will be displayed in their original chronological position. Instagram doesn’t tell others about your check-in and check-out habits, so you can move things as far as you want.
When you access your account, you can access the file from a small backspace-style button in your app’s top right corner.
How to archive a post on Instagram
You can easily archive a post on your profile to no longer be visible to the public. You can archive Instagram pictures, videos, and even stories. Follow this simple guide below to archive a post on Instagram.
Launch the Instagram app and find the post you want to archive on your profile. Now tap on the three dots in the top right corner of the article and select “Archive.”
What happens when you archive a post on Instagram?
The archive option is generally used to hide something on your profile and keep it for you to view whenever you want, but can’t be seen by others. The first thing you will notice is that it goes away immediately. Otherwise, just refresh the page.
Archived posts are stored on Instagram servers. Although they won’t appear on your profile page, they’ll still be available to you. Here’s how to view your archived messages. These publications are preserved; This means that all likes and comments on the articles will be kept when you check-in. Your subscribers can no longer see or interact with your archived posts. Archiving messages also preserves the date they were published.
How long can you keep archived posts?
There is no limit to how long you can archive your Instagram posts. Only you can view archived messages. Unlike drafts, archived messages are published to your account before being archived. At any time, you can unarchive a message to send it to your profile.
Who can see archived posts?
Archived messages can only be viewed by you (or the person who archived them). You can only archive posts from your profile. These posts remain on Instagram’s servers and are linked to your profile. You can access your archived posts on any device (as long as you are using the mobile app) by simply signing into your Instagram account.
What happens to tagged photos that are archived?
When you archive a post that other users are flagged for, the post is also removed from the other user’s Flagged section. Tagged users don’t get a notification when they check in a post. However, you can tell if they are browsing your tagged photos and find that the post is gone. If you unarchive a post that users have tagged, the post will also reappear for the tagged users.
How to access your archived posts on Instagram
You can easily access all of your archived messages in one place. These messages are only visible to you and no one else. You can only access your archived posts through the mobile app.
View your archived posts on the Instagram mobile app, sign in with your Instagram account, and navigate your profile by tapping the profile button in the lower right corner.
Now tap on the hamburger menu in the upper right corner and select “Archive.”
Your archived messages are listed by the creation date rather than the archiving date.
Does Archiving Instagram Posts Affect Engagement?
The archive hides the selected content from your subscribers. Although the content is not visible, the statistics still apply to your account. The archive retains the post’s likes and comments, so your engagement metrics are not affected when you archive certain posts.
However, archiving popular posts will affect your participation in that post as users will no longer access it to like, comment on, or share on Instagram.
Are archived Instagram posts deleted?
No. Instagram will never delete archived posts. Archived messages still belong to you and are linked to your account. No matter how long you leave an archived message, you will wait for you when you reread it.
Are archived posts displayed in the Instagram feed?
No. Once archived, your post will no longer appear in your followers’ Instagram feeds. However, if you recently downloaded the post and the user’s internet is not good enough, the Instagram feed may not update in time for it to be deleted. Once the feed is updated, the archived messages will disappear.
What happens when you unarchive a message?
When you check in an item, it retains its creation date. If you republish the archived post, it can return to your position on your profile grid. When you unarchive a post on Instagram, it will revert to its previous position on your profile grid rather than move it up as a new post.
Messages that have not been archived will not appear in your subscribers’ feeds like new messages. Deleting the archive, therefore, does not increase participation in your account. When you archive a message, all of your comments and likes are restored to their status when you archive them. Now people can like and comment on the post again. Archiving Instagram Posts has no permanent effect on the post.