Deleting your Amazon account is the only way to delete your purchase history completely. If you want to delete your account forever, you will get a clean whiteboard.
Delete an Amazon account an overview
Your Amazon account is shared by Amazon websites. If you delete it, you will lose access to Amazon.com, international stores like Amazon.de and Amazon websites like Audible.com. You cannot unsubscribe.
You lose access to almost everything. Any open order will be canceled, subscriptions like Amazon Prime will be terminated immediately, and you will lose the Amazon Gift Card balance in your account. You cannot return purchased items for a refund or replacement. The digital content you purchased will disappear, and you will not be able to download Kindle eBooks, Amazon videos, digital music, software and games, and any other digital content you may have.
What Happens if you Delete your Amazon Account?
There are many services associated with your Amazon account that will no longer work after deletion. You also lose access to a large amount of digital content.
Before you can delete your account forever, the Amazon customer service team will email you a detailed summary of what’s going on. Before that, however, it is a good idea to check whether preparations need to be made. By deleting your account:
- You lose access to all of your Amazon accounts, including Audible.com and accounts in domains from different countries (such as amazon.co.uk and amazon.de).
- You lose access to digital content associated with your account, e.g., digital music, Kindle eBooks, Amazon Apps, including Prime Videos.
- You cannot use your vouchers or Amazon gift cards.
- Items ordered through this account cannot be returned or refunded.
- You cannot initiate manual returns but are responsible for all outstanding rentals.
- You lose access to the content of your game and software library.
- Your posts, comments, and other social content will be deleted.
Please note that for Amazon web services or Kindle Direct Publishing accounts, you will need to contact your customer service teams separately to delete them.
How to Delete Amazon Account
You must contact Amazon Customer Service to close your account. However, Amazon offers a simplified process for this. (Update: Amazon has removed this option from its website.)
Visit the Contact Us page on the Amazon website to get started. Sign in with the Amazon account you want to delete.
Click Prime or something else at the top of the customer service page.
In the ‘tell us more about your issue’ section, select ‘Account settings’ in the first box, and ‘Close my account’ in the second box.
You must speak to Amazon Customer Service agents. Under “How would you like to contact us?” In the section “Email,” “Phone,” or “Chat” for further questions if need be.
Fastest way to Delete your Amazon Account
Amazon may change its website since they do that sometimes. We recommend that you contact Amazon through an online chat or call Amazon Customer Service at 888-280-4331. Ask the customer service representative to close your account for you. This is the fastest way to close or delete your Amazon account.
We recommend that you select “Email,” which seems to be the fastest method. However, you should receive an email as part of deleting the account. Amazon employees don’t cancel your account immediately if you contact them by phone or online chat.
Readers have confirmed that Amazon customer service representatives can delete an account immediately by contacting them by phone starting November 16, 2019.
All you need to do is to tell the Amazon Customer Service that you want to close your account and provide a reason.
Amazon Customer Service representatives will email you to let you know what you will lose if you delete an account. They will also try to figure out your problem and suggest other possible solutions. However, if you are sure you want to close your account, they will help you with that.
Follow the instructions that Amazon emails you to confirm that you want to close your account. Amazon will then close your account, and if you wish, you can create a new account with a new purchase history.
We’ve heard from readers who used both chat and phone number to successfully delete their accounts.
If you haven’t noticed it yet, deleting your Amazon account is quite difficult. The company does not specify exactly where or how to delete your Amazon account. Obviously, they want you to keep it, so hiding the option to delete or close your Amazon account is a little daunting for people who close their accounts.
However, if you are determined to close your account for any reason, e.g., To delete your purchase history forever, you can easily close and delete it. If you have followed this article, you would have understood how to delete your Amazon account.