What happens when you reset your iPhone? If you have inherited the iPhone from a second hand, or if you are willing to sell or give away your phone so you can upgrade to a new iPhone 8 or iPhone X, you may want to reset it to make it as “fresh” factory as possible. Note that this deletes all information from your iPhone.
Table of Contents
Does iPhone Reset Delete Everything?
What happens when you reset your iPhone? Does iPhone reset delete everything? In simple words, yes. When we talk about iPhone reset, we are talking about erasing all iPhone content and settings. You can say goodbye to notes, contacts, phone calls, messages, photos, apps, and any other personal data you may have stored on the iPhone. For this reason, the smartest thing you can do is to back up to iTunes or iCloud before doing anything. Resetting your iPhone also has a different meaning when iPhone Backup or Jailbreak. Let’s see individually how the reset affects iPhone.
Precautions before Resetting iPhone
In a word: if you reset your iPhone, it will delete all (that means, according to the selected reset option, the loss of all your data and settings.) The logical thing to do here is to take a backup before proceeding.
Apple makes it easier to back up, especially when compared to Android, as different OEMs offer different half baked solutions.
- Open the settings and tap the username or profile picture to access Apple ID details. Select your iPhone model below.
- iCloud gives you 5GB of free storage, which may or may not be enough to backup depending on how much data you have. You can always buy more or find an alternative.
- Make sure the option is turned on under iCloud Backup.
- You can see when the last backup was taken down below with small lines. If you are not satisfied or have made some changes, you can take a manual backup by clicking Back up now.
- Return to the Apple ID screen and tap iCloud here. This is where you can see a list of all apps that use iCloud to store backups. Switch these options as you prefer before taking a backup.
- Apple is gradually backing up, which means that only changes made are backed up. This saves a lot of time.
What Happens when you Reset your iPhone?
All iPhone models store your personal data, application settings, and business documents in non-volatile memory. If you turn off the phone, if its battery dies or freezes and needs to be restarted, you will not lose any data other than any unsaved files you opened at that time. If you need to fully restore your phone to its factory settings, all your data will be lost to the point of the last iTunes or iCloud backup.
A regular restart of your phone – which Apple asks to restart – does not cause data loss, except for any unsaved files opened in applications without automatic saving. Slide the bar across the screen to turn off the phone. After turning off the screen, press and hold the “sleep/wake” button until the device starts up.
If your phone freezes and the shutdown bar does not display, you can reset it, which is a forced restart. This will lose unsaved data in running apps, even if these apps will automatically save when closed.
What happens when you reset your iPhone?
Apple’s iPhone interface is beautifully intuitive, as it handles things like text messages and voicemail very effectively. It also has the ability to work effortlessly with complex applications. This makes it an attractive option for many companies.
However, there are times when you may find it necessary to reset your iPhone. It may act intermittently (very rarely) or simply want to sell it. Resetting the iPhone erases all your personal information from the phone. However, the factory settings will be kept. It’s simple, and no iPhone reset code required.
iPhone Reset Process
It is important before you start the process of resetting your iPhone, to perform a “sync” with your computer or your iCloud account in order to protect your data. iPhone must be connected to a power source with the charger in order not to run out of battery power halfway.
Reset through the Settings app. Once the app opens, click on the “General” button, and the iPhone will provide you with a long list of options. The “reset” option sits there at the bottom. Once clicked, you will see a list of the resets you can make.
If you want to completely reset your iPhone, tap the second option, named “Wipe all contents and settings”, then click “Wipe iPhone.” Once the process begins, leave the phone alone and do not interfere with it for the duration of the process. It can take anywhere from a few minutes to more than an hour. Once all data has been erased, the iPhone will restart itself.